A full house as all four Scarlets to feature in Sharks Part II

Rob Lloyd News

All four Scarlets tourists have been named in the The British & Irish Lions side to take on Cell C Sharks for this Saturday’s match at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria (kick off 5pm BST). 

Liam Williams and Gareth Davies are restored to the starting XV, while Ken Owens and Wyn Jones are named among the replacements.

Jamie George (Saracens, England) captains a side which has 13 changes to the team that played the same opposition earlier this week, with only Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) and Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) retained. 

The game against the Durban-based Sharks replaces the scheduled tour match against the Bulls and is the third in an eight-game Series culminating in the three Tests against World Champions, the Springboks. 

This is the second time the Lions will have played the Sharks in the Castle Lager Lions Series, having already beaten them 54-7 on Wednesday night at Emirates Airline Park.  


15. Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales);  14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England), 13. Elliot Daly (Saracens, England),  12. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland), 11. Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland);  10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales), 9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales);  1. Rory Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland), 2. Jamie George – captain (Saracens, England),  3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), 4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, England),  5. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, England), 6. Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland), 7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland), 8. Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland).

Replacements: 16. Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales),  17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales),  18. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England),  19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England), 20. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England), 21. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England), 22. Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland),  23. Finn Russell (Racing 92, Scotland)