Beirne named in Ireland squad for summer tour

Kieran Lewis News

Loose forward Tadhg Beirne, who cleaned up at the Scarlets End of Season Awards Dinner on Saturday, after another fantastic season with the region, has been rewarded for his fantastic form with a place in the Ireland squad for their summer tour to Australia.

Beirne will leave the Scarlets at the end of the season, playing his last game for the region this Saturday, in the Guinness PRO14 final at Dublin’s Aviva Stadium, but has made a huge impact in his short two-season stay in West Wales.

Beirne is one of two uncapped players in Joe Schmidt’s 32-man squad, the other being Leinster’s outside half Ross Byrne.

IRELAND Squad (Summer Tour To Australia, June 2018):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

Backs (14):

Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 7

Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) *

Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 10

Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 6

John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 1

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 67

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 33

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 83

Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 3

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 21

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 64

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 13

Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 73

Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahnch/Ulster) 9

Forwards (18):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 111 (capt)

Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets) *

Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 7

Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 61

Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 23

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 78

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 38

Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3

Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 9

Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 47

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 20

Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 47

Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 7

Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 5

James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 8

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 13

CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 23

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 58

* Denotes uncapped player

IRELAND Summer Tour Fixtures

Saturday, June 9

Australia v IRELAND

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, kick-off 8.05pm local time/11.05am Irish time

Saturday, June 16

Australia v IRELAND

AAMI Park, Melbourne, kick-off 8.05pm local time/11.05am Irish time

Saturday, June 23

Australia v IRELAND

Allianz Park, Sydney, kick-off 8.05pm local time/11.05am Irish time