Eight Scarlets named in Wales squad to face Scots in Cardiff

Menna Isaac News

Eight Scarlets are included in Wales’ match-day squad to take on Scotland in Saturday’s Six Nations finale at the Principality Stadium.

Prop Wyn Jones returns to the starting line-up and joins Leigh Halfpenny, Liam Williams, Hadleigh Parkes and front-row colleague Ken Owens in the run-on side.

Scrum-half Gareth Davies is recalled and named on the bench alongside Scarlets team-mates Ryan Elias and Johnny McNicholl.

Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones will equal the world record for Test appearances as he draws level with Richie McCaw. Jones will make his 139th appearance for Wales and with his nine international British & Irish Lions caps he will make his 148th Test appearance.

Jones will line-up alongside Cory Hill in the second-row, who makes his first start for Wales since February 2019.

Wyn Jones and uncapped prop WillGriff John come into the front-row for Wales alongside Owens; the back-row remains unchanged with Ross Moriarty, Justin Tipuric and Josh Navidi packing down together.

Rhys Webb starts at nine in the only change in the backline. He partners Dan Biggar at half-back, with Parkes and Nick Tompkins in the midfield. Liam Williams, George North and Halfpenny make up the back-three.

“Saturday is a great opportunity for us to wrap up the campaign with a big performance at home in Cardiff,” said Wales head coach Wayne Pivac.

“We want to finish with the performance we know we can deliver and we have been working hard to get there.

“Alun Wyn is one of the most iconic figures in the game, he is our leader and I’m delighted for him as he continues to set the bar across the game.”

Wales v Scotland  (Saturday March 14 14.15 BBC & S4C)

Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets); George North (Ospreys), Nick Tompkins (Saracens), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), Liam Williams (Scarlets); Dan Biggar (Northampton), Rhys Webb (Bath); Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Ken Owens (Scarlets), WillGriff John (Sale), Cory Hill (Dragons), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys),  Ross Moriarty (Dragons), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues).

Replacements: Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rhys Carre (Saracens), Leon Brown (Dragons), Will Rowlands (Wasps), Taulupe Faletau (Bath), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues), Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets).