Five Scarlets named in Wales U20s line-up for New Zealand opener

Rob LloydNews

Scarlets have five players in the match-day 23 for Wales’ opening match of the U20 World Championships against New Zealand in Cape Town on Saturday (6pm UK time).

Centre Macs Page, prop Josh Morse and hooker Isaac Young are named in the starting XV, with hooker Harry Thomas and uncapped scrum-half Lucca Setaro among the replacements.

Having missed the Six Nations through injury, Dragons RFC back-rower Ryan Woodman returns to captain a strong line-up.

“We feel we have picked a really strong squad and gone with what we think is a very strong bench,” explained head coach Richard  Whiffin. “We had to make some tough selection calls on a few guys who started a number of games in the Six Nations. We’ve put them on the bench as we feel they will provide an impact in the second half.”

Young (pictured) gets the nod at hooker after impressing in camp since returning from injury.

“He has trained really well – he’s a big man and enjoys the physical side of the game and we feel he will be able to bring physicality both sides of the ball to put pressure on the New Zealanders,” added Whiffin.

“We have done our homework on New Zealand and know what to expect to come our way. They are always a very good ball-moving team with quick and powerful players that will look to dominate the collision, but we need to focus on ourselves in terms of how we are going to execute our own gameplan.”

Wales U20 v New Zealand U20, Athlone Stadium, Cape Town, Sat 29 June, KO 6pm

15 Huw Anderson (Dragons RFC)

14 Harry Rees-Weldon (Dragons RFC)

13 Louie Hennessey (Bath Rugby)

12 Macs Page (Scarlets)

11 Aidan Boshoff (Bristol Bears)

10 Harri Wilde (Cardiff Rugby)

9 Ieuan Davies (Bath Rugby);

1 Josh Morse (Scarlets)

2 Isaac Young (Scarlets)

3 Sam Scott (Bristol Bears)

4 Jonny Green (Harlequins)

5 Osian Thomas (Leicester Tigers)

6 Ryan Woodman (Dragons RFC – Capt)

7 Lucas de la Rua (Cardiff Rugby)

8 Morgan Morse (Ospreys)


16 Harry Thomas (Scarlets)

17 Jordan Morris (Dragons RFC)

18 Kian Hire (Ospreys)

19 Nick Thomas (Dragons RFC)

20 Harry Beddall (Leicester Tigers)

21 Lucca Setaro (Scarlets)*

22 Harri Ford (Dragons RFC)

23 Steffan Emanuel (Cardiff Rugby)*