Hughes to captain Scarlets as PRO14 action returns

Rob Lloyd News

Scarlets centre and former Wales Under 20s captain Steff Hughes will lead the Scarlets to the field against Benetton Rugby on Sunday.

Guinness PRO14 action returns this weekend with Scarlets welcoming the return of hooker Ryan Elias and flanker James Davies from Wales camp.

Fullback Johnny Mcnicholl returns to action after suffering a shoulder injury in the Boxing Day derby against the Ospreys. Tom Prydie and Ioan Nicholas take their place alongside him in the back-three with Australian Paul Asquith partnering Hughes in the centre. Dan Jones and Jonathan Evans link up at halfback.

Returning international Elias is joined by Dylan Evans and Werner Kruger in the front row. South African David Bulbring makes his 50th appearance in the second row and is partnered with Lewis Rawlins. Davies links up with Tadhg Beirne and Will Boyde in the back row.

Speaking ahead of the clash head coach Wayne Pivac said; “It’s been a little more challenging than it has been in previous years with the success of the side and the selections, not only in the national team but the 20s aswell.

“It’s a challenging time for all clubs. We’ve got a pretty good feel about the group. Even the coaches have jumped in at training to make up the numbers.

“Preparation has gone well this week and the boys are looking forward after a couple of weeks off.

“We’re really proud of the players who have been selected in the national teams and now the guys that remain with us have an opportunity to carry on from where we left off in the PRO14.”

Scarlets team to take on Benetton Rugby at Stadio Comunale di Monigo, Sunday 11th February kick-off 14:05 (local time);

15 Johnny Mcnicholl, 14 Tom Prydie, 13 Paul Asquith, 12 Steff Hughes ©, 11 Ioan Nicholas, 10 Dan Jones, 9 Jonathan Evans, 1 Dylan Evans, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Werner Kruger, 4 Lewis Rawlins, 5 David Bulbring, 6 Tadhg Beirne, 7 James Davies, 8 Will Boyde

Replacements; Taylor Davies, Rhys Fawcett, Simon Gardiner, Steve Cummins, Josh Macleod, Declan Smith, Corey Baldwin, Tom Williams