Johnny Williams and Kieran Hardy return to Wales side for Boks test

Rob LloydNews

Scarlets duo Johnny Williams and Kieran Hardy have been named in the Wales team to take on reigning world champions South Africa in the latest match of the Summer Nations Series in Cardiff on Saturday (15:15).

Centre Williams has overcome a hamstring issue and will win his 17th cap at the Principality Stadium, while Hardy is set for his first appearance of the series at scrum-half.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland said: “Preparations have gone well. We’re really pleased with the whole squad. We’re trying to build some depth within the team and there’s been a great atmosphere.

“In the first couple of games what was really pleasing for me was the physicality we brought and the way we defended. There are still things for us to work on in terms of being much more accurate. There’s been a lot of learning from that second England game and hopefully we put that into practice against South Africa. There’s another opportunity for this group of 23 players to put their hand up before we select the world cup squad.

“We’re expecting confidence and physicality from South Africa. They don’t make a lot of mistakes. It’s a very experienced team for them. But we’ve got a great chance to go out there in front of a home crowd and produce some of the good things that we did in both the games against England. We just need to make sure we play for 80 minutes and are accurate for 80 minutes.”

Wales senior men’s XV to play South Africa at Principality Stadium in the 2023 Vodafone Summer Series. Saturday 19 August, KO 3.15pm BST. Live on Prime Video in English and Cymraeg

15. Liam Williams (Kubota Spears – 85 caps); 14. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys / Gweilch – 57 caps), 13. Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 3 caps), 12. Johnny Williams (Scarlets – 5 caps), 11. Rio Dyer (Dragons / Dreigiau – 8 caps); 10. Dan Biggar (Toulon – 109 caps), 9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 17 caps); 1. Corey Domachowski ( Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 1 cap), 2. Elliot Dee (Dragons / Dreigiau – 42 caps), 3. Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 1 cap), 4. Ben Carter (Dragons / Dreigiau – 10 caps), 5. Will Rowlands (Dragons / Dreigiau – 24 caps), 6. Dan Lydiate (Dragons / Dreigiau – 70 caps), 7. Jac Morgan (Ospreys / Gweilch – 10 caps) captain / capten, 8. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons / Dreigiau – 38 caps).

Replacements / Eilyddion

16. Sam Parry (Ospreys / Gweilch – 6 caps), 17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys / Gweilch – 43 caps), 18. Henry Thomas (Montpellier – 1 cap), 19. Teddy Williams (Cardiff Rugby/ Caerdydd – uncapped / heb gap), 20. Taine Basham (Dragons / Dreigiau – 12 caps), 21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby/ Caerdydd – 47 caps), 22. Max Llewellyn (Gloucester Rugby / Caerloyw – 1 cap), 23. Cai Evans (Dragons / Dreigiau – uncapped / heb gap).