Leigh Halfpenny to start against England


Wales senior men’s head coach Warren Gatland has named the team to play England on Saturday 25 February (KO 4.45pm live on BBC and S4C.)

Captain Ken Owens will lead out his side to a sold-out crowd at the Principality Stadium in the third round of the 2023 Guinness Six Nations.

Joining Ken in the starting XV is Leigh Halfpenny who is named as fullback after recovering from an injury that forced a late change to the side that faced Scotland two weeks ago.

Scarlets scrumhalf Kieran Hardy has been named on the bench as a replacement.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland said: “The message to the players has been let’s draw a line in the sand in terms of what’s been going on and focus completely on the rugby. We know the history of Wales and England; what that means to everyone in Wales, so we’ve got to go out there and give a good performance.

“For both teams this is a massive game because we win on Saturday and we can get things on track a little bit more. For England it’s a huge game because if you look at their final two games that’s a challenge too, so it’s a huge moment in this competition.”

Wales senior men’s team to face England in the 2023 Guinness Six Nations, Saturday 25 February KO 4.45pm GMT. Live on BBC and S4C.

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 97 caps)
14. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 46 caps)
13. Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)
12. Joe Hawkins (Ospreys – 3 caps)
11. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 22 caps)
10. Owen Williams (Ospreys – 4 caps)
9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 42 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 18 caps)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets – 88 caps) captain
3. Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 68 caps)
4. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 43 caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 156 caps)
6. Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – 4 caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 90 caps)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 97 caps)

16. Bradley Roberts (Dragons – 3 caps)
17. Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby – 19 caps)
18. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 47 caps)
19. Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs – 3 caps)
20. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 6 caps)
21. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 16 caps)
22. Dan Biggar (Toulon – 105 caps)
23. Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 25 caps)