Proud moment as Davies brothers are named in Wales team for the first time

Kieran Lewis News

James and Jonathan Davies will play in the same Wales team for the first time as Warren Gatland’s side continue their World Cup preparations with a return clash against England at Cardiff’s Principality Stadium.

The Davies boys are the first brothers to be selected for Wales since Nicky and Jamie Robinson 13 years ago.

The pair are part of an eight-strong Scarlets contingent (six in the starting line-up and two on the bench) named in the match-day squad.

Ken Owens, Hadleigh Parkes, Gareth Davies and Jake Ball also make the run-on line-up, with Wyn Jones and Aaron Shingler among the replacements.

Gatland has made just three changes to the side beaten 33-19 by England with James Davies and Ball coming in for Justin Tipuric and Adam Beard, while Dan Biggar replaces the injured Gareth Anscombe, who has been ruled out of World Cup contention because of an ACL injury suffered at Twickenham.

Ball slots into the second row alongside captain Alun Wyn Jones with Davies coming into the back row to link up with Aaron Wainwright and Ross Moriarty.

“This weekend is another opportunity for us to take the field, test ourselves and continue our preparation for Japan,” said Gatland.

“It is a little over five weeks until we kick off our campaign in Toyota against Georgia and it is important we are fully prepared and rugby-ready by then.

“We were disappointed to get the loss last weekend so it is important we step it up on Saturday and put in a big display in front a of a packed Principality Stadium.

“The squad are looking forward to getting back out there, taking another step towards the RWC and putting in a big performance.”

Elliot Dee, Wyn Jones and Dillon Lewis provide the front-row cover with Shingler and Josh Navidi completing the forward contingent.  Aled Davies, Jarrod Evans and Owen Watkin are named as the backline cover.


Liam Williams (Saracens) (56 Caps)

George North (Ospreys) (84 Caps)

Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (74 Caps)

Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (16 Caps)

Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (11 Caps)

Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints) (71 Caps)

Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (42 Caps)

Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (29 Caps)

Ken Owens (Scarlets) (65 Caps)

Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (41 Caps)

Jake Ball (Scarlets) (33 Caps)

Alun Wyn Jones (Capt) (Ospreys) (126 Caps)

Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (9 Caps)

James Davies (Scarlets) (3 Caps)

Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (32 Caps)


Elliot Dee (Dragons) (19 Caps)

Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (13 Caps)

Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (13 Caps)

Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (18 Caps)

Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (16 Caps)

Aled Davies (Ospreys) (17 Caps)

Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) (1 Cap)

Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (14 Caps)