Scarlets name side to take on Cardiff

Rob Lloyd

Scarlets have named a side showing six personnel changes for Saturday’s Welsh derby against Cardiff Rugby at Parc y Scarlets (17:15; Premier Sports).

In the back three, Johnny McNicholl returns on the right wing with fellow Wales international Leigh Halfpenny at full-back and Ryan Conbeer on the left flank.

Johnny Williams has been ruled out of action with a calf injury suffered in the loss to Benetton last weekend so Corey Baldwin comes in at outside centre and skipper Jonathan Davies moves to inside centre.

At half-back, Sam Costelow and Wales international Gareth Davies return to the starting XV.

There are two changes to the pack.

Ryan Elias is back at hooker and slots into a front row containing Steff Thomas and Javan Sebastian. Tom Price and Sam Lousi continue in the second row, while Blade Thomson comes in at openside to replace Josh Macleod, who is going through his return-to-play protocols following a knock to the head early on against Benetton.

On the bench, Wyn Jones and Ken Owens provide the international experience, Jac Price covers lock and the versatile Shaun Evans back-row cover. Dane Blacker, Dan Jones and Steff Evans are the backline replacements.

Scarlets head coach Dwayne Peel said:  “We have been in all three games at the end and haven’t come away with the win, which is frustrating for everyone. It is a big derby and the reality is neither of us have won the last two games, we need to win, they need to win, it will be a good edge.”

Scarlets team to play Cardiff at Parc y Scarlets on Saturday (17:15; Premier Sports)

15 Leigh Halfpenny; 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Corey Baldwin, 12  Jonathan Davies (capt), 11 Ryan Conbeer; 10 Sam Costelow, 9 Gareth Davies; 1 Steff Thomas 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Javan Sebastian, 4 Tom Price, 5 Sam Lousi, 6 Vaea Fifita, 7 Blade Thomson, 8 Sione Kalamafoni

Replacements: 16 Ken Owens 17 Wyn Jones 18 Harri O’Connor 19 Jac Price 20 Shaun Evans 21 Dane Blacker 22 Dan Jones 23 Steff Evans.


Josh Macleod, Johnny Williams, Ioan Nicholas, Tomás Lezana, Tom Rogers, Aaron Shingler, Dan Davis, Phil Price, Lewis Rawlins, Joe Roberts, Carwyn Tuipulotu, Callum Williams, Kemsley Mathias, Samson Lee, Griff Evans, Josh Helps.