Six Scarlets named in Wales squad to face Springboks

Rob LloydNews

Six Scarlets have been named in the Wales squad to face South Africa at Twickenham Stadium in the Qatar Airways Cup on Saturday (KO 2pm live on Sky Sports and S4C).

Fly-half Sam Costelow, flanker Taine Plumtree and new signing Henry Thomas are included in the starting XV,  while prop Kemsley Mathias, scrum-half Gareth Davies and uncapped centre Eddie James are among the replacements.

For 21-year-old Carmarthen product James, a first Test cap will cap a remarkable rise.

Hooker Dewi Lake will captain the side for this match.

Scrum-half Ellis Bevan will make his senior international debut,  becoming the 1,203rd men’s player to represent Wales.

Jac Morgan has been ruled out of the match and the forthcoming summer tour of Australia because of a hamstring injury.

Head coach Warren Gatland said: “We have our backs to the wall a little bit this week, but we’re really excited about the challenge on Saturday.

“Facing the world champions at Twickenham Stadium will be a great occasion and we’re relishing the opportunity to get out there and put in a performance.

“We have a big week ahead of us with this young squad, but the coaches and I have been very happy with the effort that’s going in.

“There’s a huge amount of potential in this group and the next five weeks will be extremely important for us in terms of wanting to develop this team.”

General admission tickets for the 2024 Qatar Airways Cup & Killik Cup matches are still available – visit Ticketmaster or RFU. Each ticket will cover entry for both South Africa vs Wales (K.O. 2pm) and Barbarians vs Fiji (K.O. 5.15pm).

Wales XV to face South Africa away at Twickenham Stadium in the Qatar Airways Cup on Saturday 22 June (KO 2pm live on Sky Sports and S4C).

15. Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 5 caps)

14. Liam Williams (Kubota Spears – 89 caps)

13. Owen Watkin (Ospreys / Gweilch – 38 caps)

12. Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 11 caps)

11. Rio Dyer (Dragons / Dreigiau – 19 caps)

10. Sam Costelow (Scarlets – 12 caps)

9. Ellis Bevan (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – uncapped / heb gap)

1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys / Gweilch – 30 caps)

2. Dewi Lake (Ospreys / Gweilch – 12 caps)

3. Henry Thomas (Scarlets – 4 caps)

4. Ben Carter (Dragons / Dreigiau – 11 caps)

5. Matthew Screech (Dragons / Dreigiau – 1 cap)

6. Taine Plumtree (Scarlets – 2 caps)

7. James Botham (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 10 caps)

8. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons / Dreigiau – 48 caps)


16. Evan Lloyd (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 2 caps)

17. Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets – 2 caps)

18. Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 6 caps)

19. James Ratti (Ospreys / Gweilch – uncapped / heb gap)

20. Mackenzie Martin (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 3 caps)

21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets – 76 caps)

22. Eddie James (Scarlets – uncapped / heb gap)

23. Jacob Beetham (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – uncapped / heb gap)