Wyn Jones returns to Wales side for Wallabies finale

Rob Lloyd News

Scarlets prop Wyn Jones returns to the Wales side for Saturday’s Autumn Nations Series finale against Australia at the Principality Stadium.

The British & Irish Lion is one of five Scarlets in the match-day 23, joining Liam Williams and front-row colleague Ryan Elias in the starting line-up. Gareth Davies and Johnny McNicholl are named on the bench.

“It’s been a tough campaign but one where we’ve exposed more players to this level of rugby, which all bodes well for the future. With the injuries we’ve faced, we have had to adapt and those are opportunities that some of the players have taken very well,” said head coach Wayne Pivac as he reflected on the Autumn Nations Series so far.

Looking ahead to the final game of the campaign, he added: “Australia have been on the road for a while now, the series they had down South and a couple of losses in the last couple of games. They’ll be hurting from that and they’ll want to finish their tour on a high note, as we’d like to finish our campaign on a high note. It bodes well for a pretty interesting fixture.

“Dave Rennie brings a physical approach to the game and we certainly expect that from the Australians but we have to be able to match that and impose ourselves on the game. It’s going to be an enthralling encounter I think and a great way to finish a series. We’re really looking forward to Saturday.

“This week I’d encourage (the crowd) to be even louder, and noisier, and back the boys. They’ve worked really hard so to have that 16th man, if you like, really pushing and driving the team on, we’d really, really appreciate that.”

Wales team to face Australia, at Principality Stadium, on Saturday 20th November 2021

15 Liam Williams (Scarlets); 14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby), 13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens),  12 Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby), 11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby); 10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints),  9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby); 1 Wyn Jones (Scarlets), 2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets), 3 Tomas Francis (Ospreys), 4 Adam Beard (Ospreys), 5 Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby), 6 Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby – captain), 7 Taine Basham (Dragons), 8 Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)Replacements; 16 Elliot Dee (Dragons), 17 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys), 18 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby), 19 Ben Carter (Dragons), 20 Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs), 21 Gareth Davies (Scarlets), 22 Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby), 23 Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets).