Archie Hughes handed another start for champion test

Rob Lloyd News

Scarlets scrum-half Archie Hughes will start his third successive match in the U20s World Championships when Wales take on France at Athlone Stadium on Tuesday (Live S4C, 3.30pm UK).

Hughes produced a try-scoring player-of-the-match performance in the win over Japan on Thursday and is named again in the No. 9 jersey for the clash with the defending champions. Scarlets prop Josh Morse is named among the replacements.

Head coach Mark Jones has named a starting side showing five changes for the crucial Pool A encounter.

There is just the one change in the backline where Ospreys winger Tom Florence gets his first start of the campaign after scoring against Japan as a half-time replacement. He replaces his regional teammate Llien Morgan.

Ospreys tighthead prop Kian Hire and Harlequins flanker Seb Driscoll get their first starts in a Welsh jersey after both impressed as second-half replacements against Japan. They replace Louis Fletcher and Lucas De La Rua respectively. Dragons hooker Sam Scarfe replaces Lewis Lloyd who drops down to the bench while Ospreys second row Liam Edwards returns in place of regional team-mate Evan Hill.

‘It’s going to be all about the execution of the game plan, if we get it right then we know that can make it worthy of a really good contest,” said Jones.

“And that is the challenge for us. We’ve got to put our best performance out on the field like we did in parts against Japan and in larger parts against New Zealand.

“Conditions look like it is going to be much drier which suits us around our game plan and the strength of our game – then it’s a case of the boys committing to it and giving the best account of themselves.

“There is no pressure on us for this game. We are going to need that 80-minute plus effort against this French side – they have an incredible squad and incredible depth, but this is a great opportunity for us.”

Wales U20 v France U20, Tuesday, July 4, Athlone Stadium, KO 3.30pm (UK), S4C live

15 Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby); 14 Tom Florence (Ospreys), 13 Louie Hennessey (Bath Rugby), 12 Bryn Bradley (Harlequins), 11 Harri Houston (Ospreys); 10 Dan Edwards (Ospreys), 9 Archie Hughes (Scarlets); 1 Dylan Kelleher-Griffiths (Dragons RFC), 2 Sam Scarfe (Dragons RFC), 3 Kian Hire (Ospreys), 4 Liam Edwards (Ospreys), 5 Jonny Green (Harlequins), 6 Ryan Woodman (Dragons RFC – Capt), 7 Seb Driscoll (Harlequins), 8 Morgan Morse (Ospreys).

Replacements: 16 Lewis Lloyd (Ospreys), 17 Josh Morse (Scarlets), 18 Louis Fletcher (Ospreys), 19 Mackenzie Martin (Cardiff Rugby), 20 Gwilym Evans (Cardiff Rugby). 21 Harri Williams (Ampthill), 22 Harri Wiilde (Cardiff Rugby), 23 Joe Westwood (Dragons RFC).