Beirne to make 50th appearance

Kieran Lewis News

Loose forward Tadhg Beirne will make his 50th appearance for the Scarlets against Munster at Thomond Park on Saturday evening.

Both teams are positioned in second place in their respective Conferences. Scarlets will be keen to secure a solid performance and result in order to keep the pressure on Conference B leaders Leinster, only three points ahead with only four games of the regular season remaining.

Following the conclusion of the Six Nations campaign Scarlets head coach Wayne Pivac has included a number of international faces in the starting XV with Wales centre Scott Williams named as captain for the Guinness PRO14 clash.

Steff Evans, Rhys Patchell and Aled Davies also return to the backline alongside Paul Asquith, Tom Varndell and Tom Williams.

Ryan Elias, Samson Lee, Aaron Shingler and James Davies return from Wales camp for the clash with Dylan Evans, Beirne and Will Boyde completing the set.

Looking ahead to the game head coach Wayne Pivac said; “We’re integrating some of the internationals back in to the squad. Last season some guys came back the first week, some the second. It’s slightly different this time around being alive in both competitions, it’s a little bit of a juggling act, we’ve got an eye on next week in terms of the preparation so it’s been an interesting exercise.

“The focus this week has been getting everyone back and the integration process. It’s about getting our selection and our preparation right, rather than concentrating on Munster.

“It’s the first time we’ve been alive in both competition in a long time; it’s slightly different focus from the same time last year. We’re keeping an eye on two competitions, it’s going to be interesting to see how the boys will manage the extra pressure – a challenge I know they’re looking forward to.

“We’re looking forward to Saturday and hopefully we’ll be able to keep the pressure on Leinster.”

Scarlets team to take on Munster at Thomond Park, Saturday 24th March, kick-off 17:30;

15 Tom Williams, 14 Tom Varndell, 13 Scott Williams ©, 12 Paul Asquith, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Aled Davies, 1 Dylan Evans, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Samson Lee, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 5 David Bulbring, 6 Aaron Shingler, 7 James Davies, 8 Will Boyde

Replacements: Emyr Phillips, Phil Price, Werner Kruger, Lewis Rawlins, Josh Macleod, Jonathan Evans, Dan Jones, Steff Hughes