Five Scarlets named for Wales U20s’ Irish test


Five Scarlets are included in the Wales U20s squad to take on Ireland in their next Six Nations assignment at Cork’s Irish Independent Park on Friday evening (KO 7.15pm).

Skipper Jac Morgan, flanker Jac Price and centre Osian Knott (pictured) again start, while front-rowers Callum Williams and Dom Booth drop to the bench as two of three changes to the starting XV.

Bristol Bears back Ioan Lloyd gets his first taste of action at full-back, while up front, loose-head prop Theo Bevacqua and hooker Will Griffiths replace Williams and Booth.

Defending champions Ireland sit top of the points table courtesy of a healthier points difference than England and will scent Welsh blood after an impressive 38-26 victory against Scotland, while Wales will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing 17-7 defeat to Italy in the opening round in Colwyn Bay last Friday evening.

“Naturally we are disappointed with the result and elements of our performance against Italy, but this week is about dealing with that and moving forward,” said head coach Gareth Williams.

“We still have four internationals left that act as great opportunities to move players forward in their development. Ireland will be a big challenge, and the atmosphere will be electric. These are the type of environments we want to expose our young players to.

“There are some areas we have worked hard to tighten up on this week, and challenged ourselves to execute better to keep Ireland under pressure which was something we didn’t do to Italy, although I thought Italy were excellent in their performance.

“We have a clear understanding of our responsibility for development, and defeats like last week can act as effective learning experiences. But we’re a competitive and proud group, and want to get back  to success against opposition we have the utmost respect for.”

Wales U20 v Ireland U20, Irish Independent Park, Friday 7 February, KO 7.15pm (Live, BBC2 Wales)

15 Ioan Lloyd (Bristol Bears)

14 Daniel John (Millfield School)

13 Osian Knott (Scarlets)

12 Aneurin Owen (Dragons)

11 Ewan Rosser (Dragons)

10 Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers)

9 Dafydd Buckland (Dragons);

1 Theo Bevacqua (Cardiff Blues)

2 Will Griffiths (Dragons)

3 Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues)

4 Jac Price (Scarlets)

5 Ben Carter (Dragons)

6 Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues)

7 Jac Morgan (Scarlets – CAPT)

8 Morgan Strong (Ospreys)


16 Dom Booth  (Scarlets)

17 Callum Williams (Scarlets)

18 Archie Griffin (Bath Rugby)

19 James Fender (Ospreys)

20 Gwilym Bradley (Cardiff Blues)

21 Ellis Bevan (Cardiff Met)

22 Bradley Roderick (Ospreys)

23 Josh Thomas (Ospreys)