Ken Owens becomes 23rd Scarlet to captain Wales

Rob LloydNews

When he led out his country for Saturday’s Guinness Six Nations opener against Ireland, Ken Owens joined an illustrious list of Scarlets who have captained Wales while at the club.

Starting off with WH Thomas way back in 1891, the roll of honour includes Scarlets greats such as Albert Jenkins, Terry Davies, Delme Thomas, Phil Bennett, Ieuan Evans, Stephen Jones, our current head coach Dwayne Peel and current Scarlets captain Jonathan Davies.

Owens led the Scarlets for a record seven successive seasons and also captained the British & Irish Lions on their 2017 tour of New Zealand, but before Saturday he had never skippered his country.

The list includes Derek Quinnell, who captained Wales for an uncapped match against Romania in 1979.

Our club historian Les Williams has been through the archives and six players have captained other countries while at the Scarlets – Dave Hodges (USA), Salesi Finau (Tonga), Inoke Afeaki (Tonga), Simon Easterby (Ireland), Deacon Manu (Fiji) and John Barclay (Scotland).

Scarlets who have captained Wales

WH Thomas 1891

Alban Davies 1914

Albert Jenkins 1923 & 1928

Idris Jones 1925

Ivor Jones, 1927, 1929 & 1930

RH Williams 1960

Onllwyn Brace 1960 & 1961

Terry Davies 1960 & 1961

Norman Gale 1967 & 1968

Delme Thomas 1972

Phil Bennett 1977 & 1978

Derek Quinnell* 1979

David Pickering 1986

Jonathan ‘Jiffy’ Davies 1987 & 1988

Ieuan Evans 1991-1995

Nigel Davies 1996

Scott Quinnell 2000

Stephen Jones 2003

Dwayne Peel 2007

Matthew Rees 2010

Scott Williams 2015

Jonathan ‘Fox’ Davies 2019-21

Ken Owens 2023

(*uncapped match)