Rising stars set for debuts against Sarries

Rob LloydFeatured

Scarlets take on Saracens in a friendly at the StoneX Stadium on Friday evening (7.30) with a number of the region’s rising talents handed their opportunity.

Scarlets are using the match as a chance to showcase some of their young stars, with Kian Abraham, Harri Williams and Isaac Young – all members of the Wales U20s Six Nations squad – as well as Academy centre Macs Page given their chance to shine.

Defence coach Gareth Williams has taken charge of the squad from Dwayne Peel this week and he includes a blend of experience and youth in a side captained by fly-half Dan Jones.

The back three sees senior Wales international Tom Rogers – who returned from injury with a try-scoring display against Munster last weekend – start at full-back, with Abraham and Harri Doel, who is on permit from Llandovery, taking up the wing berths.

Page, who was playing for his home club Crymych in the national leagues last Saturday, links up with 20-year-old Eddie James in an exciting midfield combination.

At half-back, the experienced Jones partners scrum-half Williams, who has featured for Wales U20s in the opening three rounds of the Six Nations.

Up front, hooker Joe Rees will make his senior debut and the Llangennech product packs down in between Steff Thomas and the fit-again WillGriff John. Griff Evans and Iestyn Rees combine at lock, while Iwan Shenton, Ben Williams and Carwyn Tuipulotu make up the back row.

Young could make his debut from the bench along with RGC scrum-half Olli Wynne, formerly of the Worcester Warriors Academy, Llanelli second row Chris Long and Carmarthen Quins trio Corum Nott, Lewys Millin and Will Icke who are all on permits from their clubs.

The match will be streamed live on the Saracens website.

Scarlets team to play Saracens on Friday, March 10 (7.30pm)

15 Tom Rogers; 14 Harri Doel, 13 Macs Page, 12 Eddie James, 11 Kian Abraham; 10 Dan Jones (capt), 9 Harri Williams; 1 Steff Thomas, 2 Joe Rees, 3 WillGriff John, 4 Griff Evans, 5 Iestyn Rees, 6 Iwan Shenton, 7 Ben Williams, 8 Carwyn Tuipulotu.

Reps: 16 Isaac Young. 17 Sam O’Connor, 18 Harri O’Connor, 19 Chris Long, 20 Lewys Millin, 21 Olli Wynne, 22 Josh Phillips, 23 Corum Nott, 24 Will Icke.