Scarlets make five changes for Edinburgh challenge

Rob LloydNews

Head coach Dwayne Peel has made five changes to his starting line-up as Scarlets return to action against Edinburgh in round 14 of the BKT United Rugby Championship at the Hive Stadium on Saturday evening (19:35; Premier Sports).

Taine Plumtree makes his first appearance since the round four match against Emirates Lions in November, while fellow Wales internationals Johnny Williams, Sam Costelow, Gareth Davies and Kemsley Mathias also return to the run-on side.

The back three of Ioan Nicholas, Tom Rogers and Tomi Lewis is the same as the one that started against Glasgow last time out. Williams is back to partner Eddie James in midfield, while Test duo Costelow and Davies pair up at half-back. Ioan Lloyd is ruled out with a slight hamstring niggle.

Mathias is handed the No. 1 jersey and packs down alongside skipper Ryan Elias and Sam Wainwright.

Alex Craig and Sam Lousi continue in the second row, with Plumtree coming in at blindside flanker in a back-row that also contains Vaea Fifita and Dan Davis.

On the bench, young scrum-half Archie Hughes is handed another opportunity in the match-day 23.

Head coach Dwayne Peel said: “Obviously, we were disappointed with our performance against Glasgow after coming into that game on the back of a tough, well-fought win over Benetton. There is an opportunity now to go to Edinburgh and put that right. We have had a bit of a break, a bit of reflection and we’re looking forward to the rest of the season. There are five games left and opportunities for guys to put their hands up and also an opportunity to find some momentum and show some fight.”

Scarlets team to play Edinburgh at the Hive Stadium on Saturday, April 20 (19:35; Premier Sport)

15 Ioan Nicholas; 14 Tom Rogers, 13 Johnny Williams, 12 Eddie James, 11 Tomi Lewis; 10 Sam Costelow, 9 Gareth Davies; 1 Kemsley Mathias, 2 Ryan Elias (capt), 3 Sam Wainwright, 4 Alex Craig, 5 Sam Lousi, 6 Taine Plumtree, 7 Dan Davis, 8 Vaea Fifita.

Reps: 16 Shaun Evans, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Harri O’Connor, 19 Morgan Jones, 20 Carwyn Tuipulotu, 21 Archie Hughes, 22 Dan Jones, 23 Ryan Conbeer

Players unavailable because of injury

Ioan Lloyd, Steff Evans, Joe Roberts, Jarrod Taylor, Josh Macleod, Isaac Young, Teddy Leatherbarrow, Jac Davies.