Three Scarlets to take on the Sharks

Rob LloydNews

Liam Williams, Gareth Davies and Ken Owens have been named in the British & Irish Lions squad to take on Cell C Sharks at Emirates Airline Park on Wednesday (kick off 6pm BST). 

Liam and Gareth have been named in another much-changed starting XV with Ken selected among the replacements. It will be Gareth’s first start in a Lions jersey after impressing with a try-scoring cameo off the bench in the win over the thumping Sigma Lions on Saturday.

The game, which will be shown live and exclusively on Sky Sports, is the second of eight tour matches in the 2021 Castle Lager Lions Series which culminates with three Tests against world champions, the Springboks. 

“It’s a quick turnaround from Saturday, but we’ll be ready to go by Wednesday night,” said Lions head coach Warren Gatland.  

“I’m pleased we managed to come through the weekend’s game unscathed, and the boys have rested and recovered well. We feel like we’re slowly building, but, as ever, there’s still room for improvement in all facets of our game.  

“Wednesday night is another chance for us to have a look at a few more combinations. I’m looking forward to seeing how the back row goes; it’s an exciting mixture and one that we hope will offer something a bit different. 

“We expect another physical test against a side who are known for their power play and ambition.”


Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg Kick-off: 6pm (BST) 

15. Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales);  14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England),  13. Elliot Daly (Saracens, England), 12. Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland),  11. Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland); 10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales), 9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales);  1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England), 2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England),  3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland),  4. Iain Henderson – Captain (Ulster Rugby, Ireland),  5. Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales), 6. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby, Wales),  7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England), 8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England).  

Replacements: 16. Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales),   17. Rory Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland), 18. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), 19. Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland), 20. Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), 21. Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland),  22. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland), 23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland).