Two changes to Scarlets side to take on Stormers 

Rob LloydFeatured

Head coach Dwayne Peel has made two changes to the Scarlets’ starting line-up for the round two BKT United Rugby Championship clash with DHL Stormers at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch on Saturday (3pm UK).

Carwyn Tupulotu replaces Ben Williams at No. 8, while second row Morgan Jones comes in for the injured Sam Lousi, who has a calf issue.

The back division is the same as the one that took the field at Loftus Versfeld against the Vodacom Bulls with the experienced Jonathan Davies captaining the side.

Johnny McNicholl, Tom Rogers and Ryan Conbeer make up the back three, Joe Roberts partners Davies in midfield, while Ioan Lloyd and Keiran Hardy continue at half-back.

Kemsley Mathias, Shaun Evans and Sam Wainwright again form the front row; Alex Craig packs down alongside Jones at lock, while in the back row, Tuipulotu joins Taine Plumtree and Dan Davis.

There are three changes on the bench with tight-head prop Harri O’Connor, second row Jac Price and centre Eddie James coming into the match-day 23.

Looking forward to the game, Peel said: “We have another massive challenge playing against a side that has reached the final the last two years. They are similar to the Bulls in some ways in that when they get on top of you they are very physical and they keep the gainline. From a backs perspective, they are very sharp out wide, they want to play expansive rugby and they are razor sharp on turnover ball. We know we have to improve. Seeing who has got the resilience to bounce back is going to be interesting from a coach perspective.”

Scarlets team to play DHL Stormers on Saturday, October 28 (3pm UK)

15 Johnny McNIcholl; 14 Tom Rogers, 13 Joe Roberts, 12 Jonathan Davies (capt), 11 Ryan Conbeer; 10 Ioan Lloyd, 9 Kieran Hardy; 1 Kemsley Mathias, 2 Shaun Evans, 3 Sam Wainwright, 4 Alex Craig, 5 Morgan Jones, 6 Taine Plumtree, 7 Dan Davis, 8 Carwyn Tuipulotu.

Reps: 16 Isaac Young, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Harri O’Connor, 19 Jac Price, 20 Ben Williams, 21 Archie Hughes, 22 Charlie Titcombe, 23 Eddie James..

Players unavailable

Sam Lousi, Ken Owens, Josh Macleod, Dan Jones, Steff Evans, Vaea Fifita, Ryan Elias, Gareth Davies, Sam Costelow, Johnny Williams.