URC dates and kick-off times confirmed

Rob Lloyd Featured

The United Rugby Championship have confirmed the dates and kick-off times for the 2022-23 season with Scarlets launching their campaign by taking on arch rivals Ospreys on Saturday, September 17 with a 5.15pm kick-off.

With five of the Scarlets’ opening block of seven matches taking place at Parc y Scarlets it promises to be a blockbuster autumn for Dwayne Peel and his squad.

Ulster are the visitors to Llanelli the following Saturday for a lunchtime 1pm kick-off before the Scarlets take a trip to Treviso to take on Benetton on Saturday, October 1 (5.15pm).

There’s another mouthwatering Welsh derby in round four as Cardiff Rugby arrive in Llanelli for another Saturday 5.15pm kick-off, then a week later it’s a home tie against Zebre (7.35pm) in front of the S4C cameras.

Scarlets head to the West of Ireland to take on Connacht in round five before a home clash under the Friday night lights against Irish powerhouses Leinster (7.35pm) in round seven.

Rounds eight and nine see the Scarlets fly out to South Africa to take on defending champions DHL Stormers and Emirates Lions, then, following two rounds of European action, it’s the return fixture against the Ospreys on Boxing Day in Swansea (5.15pm ko).

Dragons RFC are at the Parc to herald in 2023 for a 5.15pm kick-off before we head down  the M4 to the Arms Park to take on Cardiff Rugby on Saturday, January 7 (5.15pm).

Following the final two rounds of Challenge Cup pool action, the Vodacom Bulls make a historic first visit to Llanelli on Friday, January 27; Edinburgh are the visitors to Parc y Scarlets mid-Six Nations on Saturday, February 17, while round 15 sees the Scarlets in Cork’s Musgrave Park to face Munster.

The Cell C Sharks are our second South African visitors in round 16 on Saturday March 25 and we complete the regular season away to Glasgow and Dragons RFC.

Scarlets full URC fixtures 2022-23

R1 – Sat Sept 17 (17:15; Parc y Scarlets, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Ospreys

R2 – Sat Sept 24 (13:00; Parc y Scarlets, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Ulster

R3 – Sat, Oct 1 (17:15; Stadio Monigo, S4C, Premier Sports)

Benetton v Scarlets

R4 – Sat, Oct 8 (17:!5; Parc y Scarlets, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Cardiff Rugby

R5 – Sat, Oct 15 (19:35; Parc y Scarlets, S4C, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Zebre Parma

R6 – Fri, Oct 21 (19:35; Sportsground, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

Connacht v Scarlets

R7 – Fri, Oct 28 (19:35; Parc y Scarlets, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Leinster

R8 –  Fri, Nov 25 (17.00; DHL Stadium, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

DHL Stormers v Scarlets

R9 –  Sun, Dec 4; (11.30; Emirates Airline Park, S4C, Premier Sports)

Emirates Lions v Scarlets

R10 – Mon, Dec 26 (17:15; swansea.com Stadium, S4C, Premier Sports)

Ospreys v Scarlets

R11 – Sun, Jan 1 (17:!5; Parc y Scarlets, S4C, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Dragons RFC

R12 – Sat, Jan  7 (17:15; Cardiff Arms Park, Premier Sports)

Cardiff Rugby v Scarlets

R13 – Fri, Jan 27 (19:35; Parc y Scarlets, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Vodacom Bulls

R14 – Sat, Feb 18 (17:15, Parc y Scarlets, Premier Sports) 

Scarlets v Edinburgh Rugby 

R15 – Fri, March 3 (19:35; Musgrave Park, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

Munster v Scarlets

R16 – Sat, March 25 (19:35; Parc y Scarlets, S4C, Premier Sports)

Scarlets v Cell C Sharks

R17 – Fri, April 14 (19:35; Scotstoun, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

Glasgow Warriors v Scarlets

R18 – Sat, April 22 (15:00; Venue TBC, BBC Wales, Premier Sports)

Dragons RFC v Scarlets