Wyn named in World Rugby Dream Team of the year

Rob LloydNews

Scarlets prop Wyn Jones has been named as the lone Welshman in World Rugby’s Dream Team of the year.

The loose-head prop played an integral role in Wales’ Six Nations triumph and was named in the team of the tournament, earning himself selection for the British & Irish Lions’ tour of South Africa in the summer.

Players from eight nations – Wales, Australia, England, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland and South Africa – have been selected in the Mens 15s Dream Team by the World Rugby awards panel. 

The players boast a combined 850 caps for their countries with the world champion Springboks having the most representatives with five, followed by New Zealand with three. 

Dream Team 

1. Wyn Jones (Wales) 2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa) 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) 4. Maro Itoje (England) 5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa) 6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa) 7. Michael Hooper (Australia) 8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand) 9. Antoine Dupont (France) 10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) 11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa) 12. Samu Kerevi (Australia) 13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa) 14. Will Jordan (New Zealand) 15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)