Scarlets team to take on Glasgow Warriors

Rob LloydNews

Scarlets have named a side showing 11 changes from the one that secured their place in the EPCR Challenge Cup semi-finals for the resumption of BKT United Rugby Championship action against Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun on Friday night (19:35; BBC Wales & Viaplay).

Head coach Dwayne Peel has rotated his starting XV for the first of two matches in three weeks against the Warriors.

With Leigh Halfpenny going through his return-to-play protocols, Tom Rogers returns at full-back to link up again with Steff Evans and Ryan Conbeer in the back three.

There is an all-new midfield pairing of Ioan Nicholas and 20-year-old Eddie James, who will make his first URC start after producing a try-scoring performance off the bench against Edinburgh in his last appearance.

At half-back, Dan Jones partners Wales international Kieran Hardy.

In the front row, Wales and British & Irish Lions loose-head Wyn Jones starts alongside hooker Shaun Evans and tight-head Sam Wainwright, while Morgan Jones comes in to partner Vaea Fifita in the second row.

Iwan Shenton is handed a URC debut in the back-row. The former Cardiff Met student gets the nod at blindside flanker alongside skipper Josh Macleod and No. 8 Carwyn Tuipulotu, who replaces the injured Sione Kalamafoni.

On the bench, back-rower Iestyn Rees is in line to make his first URC appearance of the season.

Scarlets team to play Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun on Friday, April 14 (19:35 BBC Wales & Viaplay)

15 Tom Rogers; 14 Steff Evans, 13 Ioan Nicholas, 12 Eddie James, 11 Ryan Conbeer; 10 Dan Jones, 9 Kieran Hardy; 1 Wyn Jones, 2 Shaun Evans, 3 Sam Wainwright, 4 Morgan Jones, 5 Vaea Fifita, 6 Iwan Shenton, 7 Josh Macleod (capt), 8 Carwyn Tuipulotu.

Replacements: 16 Daf Hughes, 17 Steff Thomas, 18 Javan Sebastian, 19 Aaron Shingler, 20 Iestyn Rees, 21 Dane Blacker, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Joe Roberts.

Unavailable because of injury

Sione Kalamafoni, Leigh Halfpenny, Ben Williams, Taylor Davies, Dan Davis, Johnny McNicholl, Tom Price, Jac Price, Jonathan Davies, Scott Williams, Ryan Elias, Corey Baldwin, Alex Jeffries, Callum Williams, Samson Lee.